The Who receive Kennedy Center Honors Dec. 8

jimthewhofan at jimthewhofan at
Tue Sep 9 13:31:06 CDT 2008


The Who band members, Pete Townshend and Roger Daltrey.


 This completely shocks me. 


-----Original Message-----
From: Brian Cady <brianinatlanta2001 at>
To: oddsandsods <oddsandsods at>; Relayers <Relayers at>; thewho at; thewho at
Sent: Tue, 9 Sep 2008 2:12 pm
Subject: The Who receive Kennedy Center Honors Dec. 8

>From TheaterMania:

Daltrey, Freeman, Jones, Streisand, Tharp, Townshend to Receive Kennedy Center 
By: Dan Bacalzo · Sep 9, 2008  · DC Metro 

Broadway veterans Morgan Freeman, Barbra Streisand, and Twyla Tharp are among 
the recipients of the Kennedy Center Honors of 2008. The other recipients to be 
honored at the 31st annual national celebration of the arts, are singer George 
Jones and The Who band members, Pete Townshend and Roger Daltrey.

The awards will be bestowed on December 6 at a State Department dinner, hosted 
by Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, and a star-studded ceremony will follow 
on December 7, featuring a large number of guest performers from New York, 
Hollywood, Nashville, and the arts capitals of the world, to be taped for future 
broadcast. The honorees will be seated with President and Mrs. Bush.

Streisand was Tony-nominated for her performances in Funny Girl and I Can Get It 
For You Wholesale and received a special Tony Award in 1970. Freeman recently 
starred on Broadway in The Country Girl and additional Main Stem=2
0credits include 
The Gospel at Colonus and The Mighty Gents. Both are also well known for their 
film work. Tharp won a Tony for her choreography for Movin' Out, and was 
Tony-nominated for her direction. 

 -Brian in Atlanta
The Who This Month!


TheWho mailing list
TheWho at


More information about the TheWho mailing list